About Us


From humble beginnings our wonderful Athletics Club was founded.

Through the sheer love of running and thoughts of bringing a community closer together, we started as a simple running group with little more than 20 people flying the flag on a Tuesday night in Watergrasshill.

With every step we prospered and grew in ranks, 20-30-40 and more. We are a club that somewhere along the way picked up the title of “The Friendly Club”!!!

With growing numbers and growing input we put ourselves forward to The Cork County Board, following that Athletics Ireland and so Watergrasshill AC was born, January 2014.
A little over 5 years later and we boast 120+ numbers, and are in the top 10 Cork Clubs.

As a runner, I wear my club gear with pride, when I see members wearing our gear, I think back to the very first night, where it all began and cannot believe how far we have come.

As founding chairman, I consider every member a good friend, I have and will continue to do my upmost for this club and its progression. We are learning as we go, but with a strong committee and members who care, we are the up and coming club in Cork.

We train hard, we compete at all levels and are “The Friendly Club”. Thinking of Joining an AC? WGH AC is for you.

Dave Murphy
Founding Chairman

Committee 2022

Officer Roles

  • Chairperson & Designated Liasion Person - Ruairi O'Hagan
  • Vice Chairperson - Brenda Canty
  • Child Welfare Officer - Colette O’ Donoghue
  • Secretary - Denis Fitzgerald
  • Registrar - Martin Landers
  • Treasurer - Jo-Anne Cosgrove
  • PRO - Maeve O'Hagan

Special Roles

  • Female Captain - Lisa Crowley
  • Male Captain - Kieran O’ Bryne
  • Juvenile Officer - Tricia Joyce
  • Gear - Jo-Anne Cosgrove
  • Triathlon Co-Ordinator - Paddy Kavanagh / Ed Dunphy
  • Webmaster - Paddy Kavanagh

Committee Members

  • Dave Murphy
  • Paul Cashman
  • Dave Mulcahy
  • Lisa Crowley
  • Laura Murphy
  • Ian Montgomery
  • Dave Yelverton
  • Brendan Coughlan